The 2012 winners of the eighth annual Spirit of Fire Awards were announced on Friday night in front of a star-studded audience following a Downing Street reception for the nominees.

After meeting VIPs including The Right Honourable Eric Pickles MP, Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, at a special Downing Street reception, nominees made their way to the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge Hotel, where they received their awards during a prestigious ceremony presented by newsreader Nicholas Owen.

The annual awards, supported by headline sponsor Infographics UK Ltd, the developer of FireWatch and FloSuite software for the Fire and Rescue Service, honour remarkable acts of bravery and acts of outstanding dedication to The Fire Fighters Charity.

Commenting on the many achievements recognised at The Spirit of Fire 2012, Eric Pickles MP said: "These awards are a fantastic opportunity to proudly showcase the very best of our Fire and Rescue Service and also to show our admiration for those who have battled in the face of adversity, or performed a heroic act of bravery and courage. The Fire Fighters Charity helps all members of the Fire Service community during their times of need - that's serving and retired Fire Service personnel - and their selflessly supportive families. It's an honour to be recognising the Charity's supporters and beneficiaries at the Spirit of Fire Awards."

The prestigious Fire Fighter of the Year award was won by Nathan Julien of Stoke Newington Fire Station, who sprang into action after witnessing a head-on collision between three cars. Nathan, who had only been a firefighter for 11 months, pulled a man from a smoke-filled car, just seconds before it burst into flames, before returning to rescue another trapped driver.

The Child Public Hero award was won by 15-year-old Londoners Charlie Ryan, Ali Al-Nabhan and Chyane Bell, who saved two young children - a five-year-old girl and her one-year-old brother - from a house fire in Hatch End, braving the fire to rescue the baby from his cot and looking after the children in a nearby nursery while fire service battled the blaze.


Other winners on the night were:

  • Team of the Year - Runcorn Fire Station (White Watch), Cheshire
  • Brigade of the Year - West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service 
  • Supporter of the Year (Individual) - Jenny Adkins, Hereford and Worcester
  • Supporter of the Year (Team) - Blazing Saddles, East Sussex
  • Beneficiary of Courage - Ally Boyle, Strathclyde
  • Adult Public Hero - Carl Creasey and Adam Lessiter, Lincolnshire
  • Newcomer of the Year - Mary Maggs, Lincolnshire
  • Special Recognition - Hampshire Fire and Rescue Service


Former firefighter and committed fundraiser Keith Roszell MBE, a Cornish-based Company Member of The Fire Fighters Charity, received this year's Lifetime Achievement award.

Celebrities who attended the evening's ceremony included Rudolph Walker, Natalie J Robb, Bhasker Patel, Tony Hirst, Ian Puleston-Davies, Ken Livingstone, Jacqui Hames, Lorraine Chase, Michelle Heaton, Jamie Rickers, Anna Williamson, Lawrie McMenemy MBE and Kevin Keegan OBE. As well as stars from the stage and screen, a number of the country's successful Olympic medal-winning athletes joined the celebrations.


For more information visit and click here to read Fire Fighters Charity's Chief Executive John Parry review of the charity's work this year. 


Posted October 22nd, 2012 at 1000 by Andrew. Comment by emailing: