Congratulations to all the winners of the Excellence in Fire & Emergency Awards – the celebration of innovative working practices, initiatives, partnerships and technology in the fire and emergency services.

FIRE magazine publisher Fire Knowledge – in partnership with Gore-Tex Fabrics, Aico, Hainsworth Protective Products, BlueLight and MSA Bristol – would like to thank all those who attended the Excellence in Fire & Emergency Awards (EFEs). We would also like to thank our on the day sponsors: Supply Plus, Draeger UK, Emergency One/Clan Tools and Plant, Safety Components, Infographics, Babcock International, Angus, PBI Performance Products, Fire Knowledge Executive Recruitment, Institution of Fire Engineers, FIRE magazine and Asian Fire Service. The EFEs proved to be an exclusive gathering uniting suppliers and industry supporters with chief officers to recognise the very best of UK trade in partnership with emergency services. The roll of honour for the 2021 awards are:

Emergency Service of the Year
Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service

Resilience & Learning from Major Incidents
Wildfire Response, South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue

Innovation of the Year
On Call Firefighters, Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service

Collaboration of the Year
Safe and Well, Cheshire Fire and Rescue Service

Emergency Services Collaboration of the Year
Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service

Training Provider of the Year
Joanna Foster, Fabtic

Project of the Year
National Operational Guidance, Kent Fire and Rescue Service

Team of the Year
Occupational Health and Wellbeing Team, Humberside Fire and Rescue Service

Young People's Supporter of the Year
Peter Owens, Cheshire Fire and Rescue Service

Youth Champion of the Year
Paige Hanson, South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue

Most Influential Woman in Fire
Carmel McKinney, Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service

Most Influential LGBT+ Individual in Fire
Yannick Dubois, formerly East Sussex Fire and Rescue Service

International Best Practice
Abu Dhabi Civil Defense Authority

Most Influential BAME Individual in Fire
Wayne Brown, West Midlands Fire Service

Unsung Hero Award
Mark Jordan, London Fire Brigade

Outstanding Contribution to the Fire and Rescue Service
Paul Maurice Fuller, formerly Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service

FIRE would like to thank our awards presenters Chief Fire Officer Sabrina Cohen-Hatton and Fire Knowledge Director Dave Etheridge, and the judging panel for the difficult task of sifting through over 150 high-quality entries to reach the shortlist and winners. The judging panel this year was chaired by Mark Hardingham, Chair of the National Fire Chiefs Council. He was joined by Catherine Levin, Political Editor, FIRE magazine; Lorna King, Diversity & Inclusion Correspondent, FIRE magazine, Andy Fry OBE, Director, Fire Knowledge; Dave Etheridge OBE, Director, Fire Knowledge; and Dalvinder Rai, Chair, Asian Fire Services Association.