London Fire Brigade's Emergency Planning Team has received a special achievement award for its outstanding response to the severe winter weather 2009/10. Working with partner agencies, the team made sure that London kept moving despite some of the most severe weather conditions in recent years.

The awards were presented by London Fire Commissioner Ron Dobson, Chairman of LFEPA Cllr Brian Coleman and Mayor of London Boris Johnson, at a ceremony hosted by ITV London presenter Ben Scotchbrook.

The 24-strong team was nominated for the annual award for its efforts in running the London Local Authority Coordination Centre (LLACC), the Clapham-based facility responsible for monitoring and coordination of grit stock levels and rationing across all London boroughs.

During the big freeze, LLACC provided critical support to borough councils and other partner agencies like TFL and London Ambulance Service, covering more than 250 shifts between December 17, 2009 and the end of February 2010. More than 5,300 tonnes of grit were distributed on the request of the Brigade's emergency planning team, supplying grit to where it was most needed, including all 69 London Ambulance Service stations.

The team's remarkable efforts were also acknowledged by Gordon Brown, then Prime Minister, and Lord Adonis, Secretary of State for Transport at the time. They visited the LLACC in January 2010.

Andrew Pritchard, Head of Emergency Planning at London Fire Brigade, said: "Winter 2009/10 saw some of the worst weather conditions we've ever experienced in London. Despite it, through the hard-work and commitment of our emergency planning team and partner organisations, we managed to keep London moving."

Mayor of London Boris Johnson, who presented the award to the team, said: "These award winners are a fine example of the breadth of dedication and professionalism within the London Fire Brigade, which helps make London one of the safest big cities in the world."

Brian Coleman AM, FRSA, Chairman and Leader of the London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority, also congratulated the winners: "The range of this year's awards demonstrates how the service provided by London Fire Brigade is evolving; with our crews dealing not just with emergencies, but saving lives through innovative projects that help stop emergencies from happening in the first place. I congratulate the award winners for their service to the Authority and the communities across London."



The Emergency Planning Team with Ben Scotchbrook, Boris Johnson, Mark Sayer, John Draycey, Rowena Proctor, Stuart Turner and Ron Dobson.


Posted: 14.31pm, 07.03.11