The shortlist for the 2014 Spirit of Fire Awards, organised by The Fire Fighters Charity, has been announced, and includes a number of brave and dedicated finalists who have been nominated for the following ten categories:

Team of the Year
- Blue Watch Newport, Isle of Wight
- Borders Barmy Army, Galashiels
- Oxford to Bonn Challenge Cycle Team, Oxford
- StrongArm Challenge Team, Tyne and Wear / Durham and Darlington

Best Newcomer of the Year
- Ashley Brown, Shropshire
- Claire Boer, Norfolk
- Clare Morris, Lancashire
- Kevin McKenzie, London

Supporter of the Year
- Ally Birkett, Aberdeen
- Dom Furby, Birkenshaw
- Andy Hunter, Dunfermline
- Tim West, Huntingdon

Fire Service of the Year
- Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
- Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service
- Cumbria Fire and Rescue Service
- Oxfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
- Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
- West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service

Corporate Supporter of the Year
- D. Robinson & Recycling Partners, Desborough
- Babcock International Group, London
- Infographics, Edinburgh
- Oxfordshire County Council, Oxford

Lifetime Achievement Award – revealed at the awards in May 2014

Beneficiary of Courage
- Helen Jones, Bolton
- Victoria Marks, Liskeard
- Maureen Spenley, Merseyside
- Mick Titmarsh, Bradford

Youth Courage Award
- Adam Criddle, Ross on Wye
- Joshua Hopkins, Ben Hool and Lewis Byng, Carmarthen
- Bailie Kershaw, Millom
- Alfie Sharpe, Kilmarnock

Adult Hero
- Alan Chapman, Littleport
- Tracey Jane Marriott, Evesham
- Emma Burles, Hannah King and Jordan McNulty, Hockley
- Paul Tunnah and Grant Blears, Manchester

Fire Fighter of the Year
- Jim Golder, Suffolk Fire and Rescue Service
- David Millward, Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
- Paul Rich, London Fire Brigade
- Rachael Streeting, Warwickshire Fire and Rescue Service
- Bob Williams, Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service

Every week from now until the awards on 16 May, FIRE will profile one of the nominees stories before bringing you full coverage from the ceremony at Park Plaza, Westminster.

To book a place or table, and for more information, please visit our website: www.spiritoffireawards.co.uk